Yes, yes we did.

November 7, 2008 at 3:22 pm 1 comment

If there is anyone out there who still doubts that America is a place where all things are possible; who still wonders if the dream of our founders is alive in our time; who still questions the power of our democracy, tonight is your answer.

At around 11pm on Tuesday night I was standing in front of the bar at Top of the Hill.  Glancing up at the television screen, a single phrase caught my eye

Barack Obama, President of the United States of America

I have no doubt that the entire bar erupted into cheers, but in my head it was completely silent.  I was in utter disbelief.  I.  Never.  Thought.  This.  Would.  Happen.  EVER.  So I just stood there, dumbstruck.  After a few moments the tears came…we did it.  We actually did it.

Everyone rushed outside and down to Franklin St. below.  I have never seen so many happy people or felt such positive energy in my life.  Imagine hundreds of ecstatic undergrads unironically shouting, “USA!  USA!” or grasping hands and singing the national anthem.  This just doesn’t happen.  Not in Chapel Hill anyway.  The cops came quickly but they didn’t seem to want to dampen the mood.  They let people rush the streets with the light via the crosswalk.  It was cute.  Cars drove through honking.  Some drivers would even get out and jump on their cars.  We were all celebrating together.  We won!  Honestly the word that best describes the scene to me is liberation.  It was as though our entire generation had been held in bondage and were finally free, the wall had come down.

I talked to my family on the phone a bit later that night.  They all began the conversation with the same thing.  See?  Now you can do it too.  While I have 0 aspirations for president, I certainly understand the sentiment.  I especially wanted to talk to my grandfather, who had been campaigning non-stop for Obama for a few months (he’d even gotten my mom to vote for the first time).  “Congratulations,” he said.  “This is because of your generation.”

We were always equal in ability, but now we’re equal in opportunity.

It had been a bleak start to the week, raining all day Monday and on  into Election Tuesday, but that night I was glad for the rain.  It was cathartic and cleansing.  And you know what?  It’s been absolutely beautiful since then.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Living the Pseudo Life Chronology of an Epic Fail.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kristin  |  December 10, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    u are like totally going to make me cry and shit. and dont worry about the lsat–futures are overrated. i cant wait to sit at open eye and do nothing but stare at smelly but cute carrboro guys and facebook unabashedly. love, kristin.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



